13 Candidates File Nomination For Gossaigaon By-Polls


Kokrajhar, Oct 8: Eight (8) more candidates file their nominations for the October 30 byelections for Gossaigaon Assembly constituency, bringing the total nominations to thirteen (13).

Abdul Hasen Akhand of Voters Party International (VPI), Nara Basumatary, Uttam Kumar Talukdar, Kamal Roy, Uttam Kumar Mazundar, Md. Sayed Ali, Osman Goni Sheikh and Babulal Besra– all independent candidates filed their nominations on the last date of nomination today. Yesterday 5 candidates including Jiron Basumatary of UPPL, Jowel Tudu (Congress), Dhruba Kumar Brahma Narzary (BPF), Khairul Anam Khandakar (AIUDF) and one independent candidate Harkiuliash Basumatary filed their nominations.

Scrutiny of nominations will be done on 11.10.2021 while the last date of withdrawal is 16.10.2021. Counting of votes is 2 November 2021.

The bypoll for Gossaigaon constituency was necessitated after senior BPF leader and Gossaigaon LAC MLA Majendra Narzary expired due to Covid-19 complication on May 26 last.