Bonzar Joins BJP, Mitharam Joins UPPL


KOKRAJHAR, DEC 30: In a political development in Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) region within the couple of days since after formation of UPPL-BJP-GSP coalition government in BTC, former executive members of BTC and senior BPF leaders have joined in BJP and UPPL parties respectively on Wednesday in Udalguri district.

Former BTC executive member and contesting candidate of AIUDF party from Dhanshri constituency in Udalguri district, Mitharam Basumatary formally joined the United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) on Wednesday at a party meeting held in Udalguri district.

Basumatary joined the UPPL party along with his hundreds of supporters and followers.
Basumatary was the thrice executive member in Bodoland Territorial Council under the banner of BPF party since 2005 to 2015.

Bonzar joins BJP, Mitharam joins UPPL

He losts in 2015 and 2020 general BTC council elections on BPF ticket and AIUDF party ticket respectively from Dhanshri constituency.

Basumatary was also a central rank leader of the BLT (now defunct) in his life.

Basumatary was declined party ticket from BPF party to contest the BTC council elections in 2020 and immediately switched over to the AIUDF party.

He lost to BPF candidate Fresh Mushahary in Dhanshri constituency.

Basumatry was accorded warm welcome and felicitation by UPPL chief and BTC CEM Pramod Boro, BTC deputy CEM Gabinda Chandra Basumatary with traditional Aronai and bunch of flowers.

UPPL chief Pramod Boro said that his party was working for the welfare and development of the common masses since it’s inception in the region.

He said that the UPPL-BJP-GSP coalition government is committed to work for the massive development and welfare aspects of the citizens.

Meanwhile, former BTC executive member and senior BPF leader Bonzar Daimary formally joined the BJP party today in Udalguri district.

Bonzar joins BJP, Mitharam joins UPPL

Daimary was held MCLA for thrice from Khaling Duar constituency since 2005 and lost to UPPL candidate Dilip Kumar Boro in the BTC council election this year(2020).

Daimary joined the saffron party along with his supporters.

Notably, UPPL-BJP-GSP combine formed the coalition government in BTC administration.

UPPL won 12, BJP 9, BPF 17 (later one member joined in BJP), GSP 1, Congress 1 (later joined in BJP).

Pramod Boro led UPPL-BJP-GSP combine coalition government took oath of office and secrecy on 15th December last.

BTC CEM Pramod Boro has been stressing for building up a corruption free society in the region with good governance for paving the way healthy development.

Boro and BTC executive member Ranjit Basumatary made a surprise visit at Tangla town in Udalguri district where they have inspected town area’s infrastructural developmental activities.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here