BTAD Gaonburah Association Demands Appointment


KOKRAJHAR, JAN 6: The Bodoland Territorial Areas District (BTAD) Gaonburah Association has demanded appointment of Gaonburahs across the BTAD districts with immediate manner to meet healthy governance in the rural areas.

The 3rd five year convention of the All BTAD Gaonburah Association was concluded on Wednesday with two day programme scheduled held at Gaonburah Bhawan, Khargaon in Kokrajhar.

President of the BTAD Gaonburah Association Dhananjay Brahma hoisted association flag followed by homage to founder president of the association Gopal Chandra Basumatary.

BTAD Gaonburah association demands appointment

President of the association Dhananjay Brahma has expressed his resented over state government and BTAD administration for not taking wellbeing initiative to solve issues and grievances of the Gaonburah association.

He has alleged that state government has not been taking any step for appointing
Gaonburas in Kokrajhar and Chirang districts of BTAD administration.

He has been demanding equal status among the Gaoburahs across the state, but it has been differentiating the unity and development by taking partially responsibility while paying salaries among the village headmen in the state.

BTAD Gaonburah association demands appointment

He said, “There are paying salaries to 19 districts headmen since decades under Revenue department, but remaining 8 districts of the state including two districts from BTAD region have been depriving the appointment and salaries till today due to negligence of government”.

He said there are 776 revenue villages headmen in Kokrajhar and 432 headmen in Chirang district of BTAD which are not getting government appointment and salaries and working for the greater interest of the common publics without any salaries and appointment.

He said that the association demanded early appointment of Gaonburah in Kokrajhar and Chirang districts where Udalguri and Baksa districts are enjoying salaries as well government beneficial.

BTAD Gaonburah association demands appointment

He has urged the state government and BTC administration to allot welfare and development services of the Gaonburahs to meet healthy working services among the society.

During the convention, Dhananjay Brahma and Robert Kherkata have been retained as president and secretary of the association for another five year term respectively.

An open meeting was also held on the occasion with Dhananjay Brahma in the chair.

Former Tribal Sangha president Ranjit Kumar Borgoyary, Udalguri circle Gaonburah association president Khargaon Prasad Sarma were prominent attendees in the programme.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here