ISPL-2022 To Kick Starts On Oct 9


KOKRAJHAR, OCT 1: Massive preparations are on to host the first ever inter Sixth Scheduled Councils Premier Football League-2022 (ISPL-2022) to be held at various playgrounds in Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR) districts from 9th October next with 14 day long programmes.

A total of 10 teams are participating in the mega event representing different sixth schedule councils of north eastern states of the India.

The event is being organised by Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR) government for building a better net working, mutual understanding and to provide a platform to the youths in the field of sports across the north eastern region of India.

An organising committee was formed to host the event smooth and successful with Pramod Boro, chief executive member of Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR) as chairman, Daobaisa Boro, BTR executive member as co-chairman and Naren Chandra Basumatary, BTC Secretary as convenor respectively.

The sixth schedule councils from different states of the north-eastern region which have so far confirmed their participation in the event includes Lai Autonomous District Council (Mizoram), Mara Autonomous District Council (Mizoram), Chakma Autonomous District Council (Mizoram), Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (Tripura), Khasi Hills Autonomous Council (Meghalaya), Jaintia Hills Autonomous Council (Meghalaya), Garo Hills Autonomous Council (Meghalaya), Dima Hasao Autonomous Council (Assam), Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council (Assam) and host Bodoland Territorial Region (Assam).

The opening match will held at Dimakuchi Mini Stadium in Udalguri on 9th October and closing function will held at SAI SAG centre, Titaguri in Kokrajhar on 23rd October in a grand manner.

The league matches of the event will also be organised at Bijni district sports association (BDSA) ground in Chirang, district sports complex, Bathoupuri, Mushalpur in Baksa and Kokrajhar district sports association (KDSA) ground in Kokrajhar.

The championship team would be awarded trophy and cash Rs.3 lakh while runners up team get a trophy and cash Rs.2 lakh respectively.

Union minister of Law & Justice, Govt of India, Kiren Rijiju, Union Sports minister Anurag Thakur, Assam Governor Prof. Jagdish Mukhi, chief minister Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma, Assam cabinet minister Urkhao Gwra Brahma, BTR CEM Pramod Boro, Deputy CEM Gabinda Chandra Basumatary are attending as guests in the opening and closing function of the event.

On Saturday, BTR CEM Pramod Boro, BTR executive member Dr Nilut Swargiary, officials from sports department and sports organisers visited at the SAI SAG centre, Titaguri and KDSA ground in Kokrajhar to take stock of field preparation for holding the first ever ISPL event.

Boro interacted with the officials of sports department and organisers while taking stock about the preparation.

He said that the BTR government is initiating the ISPL event to promote sporting environment across the northeastern region.

“BTR government is initiating to organise the mega football event in Bodoland to create a congenial sport’s environment among the youths and to provide a platform to the youths in the field of sports in the entire north eastern region. Especially, Bodoland region as well entire north eastern region have a potentiality of sports”, Boro said.

He has appealed to all citizens of the region to extend support and cooperation to make a grand success of the premier football league.

Meanwhile, the Bodoland team is so far prepared after a selection camp and it’s players are taking their practices at Kajalgaon mini stadium ground in Chirang.