Mantu Boro Wins Koklabari Bye Poll


KOKRAJHAR, JUN 12: UPPL-BJP-GSP alliance party’s candidate Mantu Boro won the No.22 Koklabari constituency (ST) bye poll defeating his nearest contestant Shangkhar Basumatary of opposition BPF party in a margin of 16,346 votes.

The counting of votes of Koklabari constituency was started from 8 am today amidst a strict security vigil at Mushalpur of Baksa district.

The UPPL-BJP-GSP alliance party’s candidate Mantu Boro has seen lead of huge margin of votes against nearest contestant since it’s start of counting of votes and subsequently won the Koklabari constituency by 16,346 margin of votes till the last round.

UPPL-BJP-GSP alliance party’s candidate Boro got 32,571 votes while opposition BPF party’s candidate Shangkhar Basumatary got 16,225 votes in the bye poll.

Notably, the bye poll in Koklabari constituency was necessitated following BTR CEM Pramod Boro resigned as MCLA from Koklabari constituency.

Mantu Boro was former ABSU leader and noted social activist in the region.

Winning the Koklabari constituency bye poll,Mantu Boro has extended his thanks to all the leaders,members and supporters of alliance parties,said that he is getting last laugh from the Koklabari constituency only for the massive support from the Koklabari constituency citizens who have extended support for him.

He has especially extended his warm thanks to the BTR CEM and UPPL president Pramod Boro,Assam state BJP president Bhabesh Kalita,Assam cabinet ministers Urkhao Gwra Brahma, Chandra Mahan Patowary, MLAs Lawrence Islary, Phanidhar Talukdar and several leaders from ruling UPPL, BJP, GSP parties who have rendered their relentlessly campaigning during the election.

He has assured that he will dedicate deeply towards the uplift and all round development of the citizens in the constituency.

BTR CEM and UPPL president Pramod Boro has extended his congratulations to the newly elected Mantu Boro from Koklabari constituency.

He has extended his sincere thanks to all citizens of Koklabari constituency for supporting the UPPL-BJP-GSP alliance party’s candidate.

” Thank you Koklabari. You have yet again proved your love & support for us by ensuring this grand win for our alliance candidate Shri Mantu Boro. Congratulations to Mantu Baro for winning the by-poll in a huge margin. Wish you a successful tenure ahead”, Boro added.