Minister UG Brahma Distributes Cheques Under AMFIRS In Chirang 


KOKRAJHAR, OCT 28: Minister of Handloom and Textiles, Soil Conservation, Sericulture and Welfare of Bodoland department and Guardian Minister of Chirang district Urkhao Gwra Brahma on Friday ceremonially distributed the cheques of financial assistance to Category-II women loan borrowers from Microfinance institutions under Assam Micro Finance Incentive and Relief Scheme (AMFIRS), 2021.

Out of the 963 beneficiaries in the district, cheques were handed over to 500 beneficiaries during the programme held at the District Parade Ground, Kajalgaon.

The programme was also graced by Hon’ble Rajya Sabha MP Rwngwara Narzary and Hon’ble MLA Ajay Kumar Roy, and joined the minister in distributing cheques among the beneficiaries.

Deputy Commissioner, Chirang, P. Vijayabaskar Reddy delivered the welcome address at the programme organised by the Finance Department, Government of Assam in association with Chirang District Administration.

Addressing the gathering, minister Urkhao Gwra Brahma informed that under the Assam Micro Finance Incentive and Relief Scheme, 2021, in order to provide relief to those beneficiaries of Category-II who have not been able to repay the loan within 1-89 days, the government has taken initiative to give them financial assistance up to Rs. 20,000. “This will benefit the borrowers financially and thereby propel the rural economy towards new development”, he added. He also urged the women loan borrowers of Chirang district to be committed to become good entrepreneurs to accelerate the rural economy and become self-reliant equally with men.

In his speech, Rajya Sabha MP Rwngwra Narzary hoped that the problems faced by the loan borrowers, would be resolved at least to some extent with the financial relief provided by the state state government. MLA Ajay Kumar Roy also urged all the loan borrowers to repay the amount due against their loans to the banks on time and to use the amount properly so that they can take fresh loans and do better for their sustainable livelihood.

The programme was conducted by conducted by Kushal Kalita and was attended by Additional Deputy Commissioners Ajit Kumar Sarmah, Ringkhang Mashahary, Election Officer Partha Pratim Baruah, Assistant Commissioners Rakhishri Lekharu, Pratisha Dutta and other officials of the district administration.