Senior BPF Leaders Biswajit Daimary and Emmanuel Mosahary to Join BJP Tomorrow


Kokrajhar, Nov 22: Two prominent leaders of the Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) including its working president and Rajya Sabha MP Biswajit Daimary and general secretary and Tamulpur MLA Emmanuel Mosahary are likely to join the BJP at a ceremonial joining programme to be held at Tamulpur in Baksa district Sunday.

Daimary have officially resigned from his MP post earlier today. He had on 11 November resigned from his post of working president in the BPF.

Daimary confirm the development saying “Yes I have resigned from the Rajya Sabha and joining the BJP formally tomorrow”.

“As per provision of clause (3)(b) of Article 101 of the Constitution of India and Rule 213 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Council of States, I hereby resign my seat/membership in the Rajya Sabha with immediate effect,” Daimary wrote in his resignation letter addressed to Venkaiah Naidu, the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

Senior BPF leaders Biswajit Daimary and Emmanuel Mosahary to join BJP tomorrow

BPF general secretary and Tamulpur MLA Emmanuel Mosahary have also confirmed his resignation from the party and joining the BJP.

“Yes I am joining the BJP formally tomorrow. I have submitted my resignation from the BPF party to the president, Mosahary said adding that “every day around 500 people in Tamulpur are joining the BJP”.

Mosahary said he took the decision for his growing differences with the party leadership.

A grand joining ceremony cum meeting of BJP will be held tomorrow at Tamulpur in Baksa district. Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal and NEDA convenor and Assam Health and Finance Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma along with Assam State BJP President Ranjit Dass will attend the programme.

The development of two prominent leaders leaving the party is considered a big blow to the Hagrama Mohilary led BPF as it came just few days ahead of two phase BTC elections scheduled on 7 December and10 December.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here