KOKRAJHAR, OCT 17: The Opposition Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) party in Bodoland Territorial Region has again face set back with two more menbers of council legislative assembly (MCLA) of Bodoland Territorial Council Legislative Assembly have joined the ruling Bharariya Janata Party (BJP) at a meeting held at Hengrabari BJP office today in Guwahati city.

The BPF MCLAs are Rajib Brahma of Banargaon and Prabhat Basumatary of Subhaijhar constituency who have formally joined the saffron party in the presence of Assam state BJP president Bhabesh Kalita.

Kalita and several senior BJP leaders accorded warm welcome and felicitation to the newly joined members.

Notably, Brahma was elected to the BTCLA on BPF ticket from Banargaon constituency defeating UPPL candidate Rabiram Brahma while Prabhat Basumatary elected defeating UPPL candidate Guneswar Goyary in BTC election (2020) respectively.

Hagrama Mohilary led BPF party won 17 constituencies of the 40 member house of Bodoland Territorial Council Legislative Assembly where UPPL-BJP-GSP alliance party formed council with UPPL (12), BJP (9), Independent (2).

Today, the strength of the Opposition BPF’s elected member toll stands 12 as five elected MCLAs have eroded from party and joined the BJP (3) and UPPL (2) respectively within the few ten months of the UPPL led alliance government in Bodoland Territorial Council.

Kalita said that his party recieved two more BPF members as they have joined the BJP party.He said that BJP led alliance government was working towards the welfare and uplift of common masses across the state including Bodoland Territorial Region since it’s inception.

He said that NDA alliance government is fully committed to work for the welfare and integration among all sections of the communities in the state.