Two-Phase BTC Elections on December 7 and 10


Kokrajhar, Nov 17: Elections to the 40 members Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) will be in two phases on December 7 and 10 next.

The State Election Commissioner of Assam Alok Kumar Tuesday announced the date of the Council elections to be held in two phases.

Voters in constituencies falling under Udalguri and Baksa districts will vote in the first phase on 7 December (Monday) while voters under Chirang and Kokrajhar district will vote in the second phase 10 December (Thursday) next.

There are 10 BTC constituencies under Udalguri district, 11 constituencies under Baksa district, 7 constituencies under Chirang and 12 BTC constituencies under Kokrajhar district respectively. The BTC has 45 members, of whom five are nominated.

The casting of votes will start from 7:30 am in the morning till 4:30 pm in the afternoon. Re-polling, if any, will take place on 8 December for the first phase elections and on 11 December for the second phase. Counting of votes will take place on December 12.

Elections to the BTC which was earlier scheduled for April 4 were deferred following the nationwide lockdown due to Covid 19 pandemic.


Campaigning gained momentum in different parts of the four districts of Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR) as political parties’ leaders and candidates were seen carrying out rallies, meetings etc reaching out to the public with promises of all round development.

The Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) secretary Durga Das Boro today visited Fakiragram in Kokrajhar and inaugurated the Office of the Fakiragram town Block Congress Committee and held meetings with party workers and supporters. The Congress is supporting the AIUDF candidate Anwar Hussain in Fakiragram Constituency.

In Pics: Durga Das Boro (Credit: SpeedNewsToday)

Congress has fielded 13 candidates while AIUDF put candidates in 7 constituencies in the ensuing BTC elections.

Talking to Reporters, the senior Congress leader said no party will get an absolute majority this time. It will be a coalition govt in BTC this time, he said adding that the Congress combine will get 10 seats and form the govt with like-minded parties.

He also criticised the BJP of indulging in dirty politics. He said the BJP is now blaming the BPF to hide its failure and misrule in BTC in the last 5 years.

NEDA convenor, Assam Health, and Education Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma also attended a huge public gathering at Saraibil in Kokrajhar for the BJP candidates. Addressing the gathering, Sarma continued his attack on the BPF alleging misrule and indulging in corruption in the BTC area. Terming the BJP supporting the BPF in the last 15 years rule in the BTC a great mistake, he said, “Allowing the BPF to rule was a grave mistake. We should have removed the BPF from power long ago”. He accused the BPF of depriving the poor for the govt schemes like the pensions sanctioned by the centres etc. He said the BJP is committed to all kinds of development in BTC and creating an environment of peace and prosperity for the people.

The United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) organised a grand citizens gathering at Kajalgaon in Chirang district.  UPPL president Pramod Boro, participated in the meeting which was also attended by senior party leaders and candidates from Chirang. Boro expressed his confidence of winning the elections and forming the govt in the BTC with absolute majority.

Lambasting former BTC Chief Hagrama Mohilary of indulging in massive corruption in the last 17 years rule as chief of BTC, Boro said that all the corruptions in the region would come to the fore if his party is elected to power in the 40-member Bodoland Territorial Council.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here